Home | GOs & Acts | Awards | FAQs | About Us | HOD's List | Contact Us     




      The Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority was formed by an Act (GO Ms. No. 570 MA dt: 25-08-2008) of the Andhra Pradesh Legislature in the year 2008, with an area of 7,100 sq km under its purview. It is the 2nd largest urban development area in India after the Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (8,005 sq km). Click here for the jurisdiction map of HMDA. Here is the list of villages covered under HMDA's jurisdiction.


      HMDA was formed by the merging of the following erstwhile entities - Hyderabad Urban Development Authority (HUDA), Hyderabad Airport Development Authority (HADA), Cyberabad Development Authority (CDA) and Buddha Poornima Project Authority (BPPA).


      HMDA was set up for the purposes of planning, co-ordination, supervising, promoting and securing the planned development of the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region. It coordinates the development activities of the municipal corporations, municipalities and other local authorities, the Hyderabad Metropolitan Water Supply & Sewerage Board, the Andhra Pradesh Transmission Corporation, the Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation, the Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation, and other such bodies.


      The HMDA also maintains and manages the Hyderabad Management Development Fund, allocating finances based on the plans and programs of local bodies to undertake development of amenities and infrastructure facilities.


      HMDA has 4 zonal offices, located in Medchal, Shankerpally, Ghatkesar and Shamshabad. Click here for the addresses of the zonal offices.


Hyderabad History | FAQs | Awards | Contact Us

Copyright ©2010 Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority. All Rights Reserved.