Agent (All Working Days)


Lake Conservation - Lake Identified - Lake Beautification

Click here for Lakes photo gallery

Lakes contribute significant additional recharge to ground water due to infiltration, but however, urbanization has led to loss of water bodies, resulting in increased runoff. There is rapid depletion of ground water level, and the worst ground water scenario is being experienced by apartment complexes. An additional problem is the pollution due factors like idol immersion during Ganesh Chaturthi, the washing of clothes in lakes, and indiscriminate dumping of debris.

The Lake Protection Committee was constituted in order to cater to the protection of lakes in the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region. It is involved in the administration of the protection and improvement of lakes and their catchments. The Metropolitan Commissioner of HMDA coordinates all the activities of the Committee.

Government of Andhra Pradesh vide G.O.Ms.No. 157, MA&UD(I1) Department, dt. 6-4-2010 have constituted Lake Protection Committee with the following members for preservation and protection of lakes in Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority area and the Metropolitan Commissioner, HMDA is the Chairman of the Committee.

1 The Metropolitan Commissioner, HMDA (Chairman)
2 The Commissioner, GHMC (Member)
3 Representative of DG of Police (Member)
4 The Managing Director, HMWS&SB (Member)
5 The Commissioner of Industries (Member)
6 The Member Secretary, APPCB (Member)
7 The Commissioner of Panchayatraj (Member)
8 The Chief Engineer, Minor Irrigation (Member).
8 The Director of Town and Country Planning (Member).
9 The Director General, EPTRI (Member)
10 Representative of NGRI (Member)
11 The Prl. Chief Conservator of Forests (Member)
12 The Collector, Hyderabad District (Member)
13 The Collector, R.R.District (Member)
14 The Collector, Medak District (Member)
15 The Collector, Nalgonda District (Member)
16 The Collector, Mahabubnagar District (Member)
17 The Member Environment, HMDA (Member - Convener)

The 1st lake protection committee meeting held on 20-04-2010. During the meeting, it was decided to aunch a special drive for protection of following 21 lakes right from 22-4-2010, (Earth Day) to be culminated to 5-06-2010 i.e., World Environment Day.

Priority-I : Development of Green Belt

  • Osman Sagar
  • Himayath Sagar
  • Hussain Sagar

Priority-II : Demarcation of boundary & removal of encroachments

  • Durgam Cheruvu
  • Banda Cheruvu (Malkajgiri)
  • Thammadi Kunta (Madhapur)
  • Amber Cheruvu (Kukatpally)
  • Hasmathpet Cheruvu (Kukatpally)
  • Yellamma Cheruvu (Serilingampally)
  • Bhagarathi Cheruvu (Serilingampally)
  • Mysamma Cheruvu (Serilingampally)
  • Pedda Cheruvu (Ramanthapur)
  • Kapra Cheruvu (Kapra)

Priority-III: Diversion of excess Sewerage in-flow/ construction of STPs

  • Banjara Lake
  • R.K.Puram Cheruvu (Malkajgiri)
  • Patel Cheruvu (Nacharam)
  • Pedda Cheruvu (Nacharam)
  • Nalla Cheruvu (Uppal)
  • Mir Alam Tank (Rajendra Nagar)
  • Satam Cheruvu (MCH area)
  • Nalla Cheruvu (Moosapet)

HMDA Committees
Copy rights © 2018. All rights reserved by HMDA,Telangana .
Number of Visitors
Designed and Developed by IT CELL HMDA